Saturday, January 2, 2010

Brrrrrr It's Cold Out There!

Today, I was in a funk. Funkity funk funk funk. One minute I was happy, the next minute I was sad and crying. I'm dreading going back to work on Monday. I don't want to get into my work stress on this blog, but it's there and I'm dreading it. Once I get into work and going, I'm usually ok, but my current stress is pretty extreme - at least it feels that way today. I had a TERRIBLE time getting motivated. It's sooooo cold (my car read 18 degrees when I went out on an errand). I just wanted to watch TV and vegetate.

Ryan saw what was happening and really encouraged me to go out and do my run.

"It's too cold," I said.

"You know it'll make you feel better after you do it. It's day two of your plan, are you really going to let it go today?" He replied.

He's so right.

So, I laid down with A1 and took a little nap. Then, I dropped hubby off at the car dealership to get our new car (we lease cars, it's just easy for now that way), and came home ready to run. Here's me all suited up (that's our new blue Civic in the background - Ryan put it there on purpose :) ):



Here's what my Nike+ said at the end --- I pushed stop at 2 miles (my goal was 3 miles today, but honestly, it was really cold and got dark at the end) - but it kept going, so I think my pace was actually a bit faster seeing as I walked for a bit at the end.



When I came home, I stretched and then did some Ab work on my new Bosu Ball I got for Chrismas - but just a little bit because I'm doing the Shred and WMM 3-4 days a week. Here are some pics and prior to posting them, I have to say, I feel like I look HORRIBLE in these pictures. However, this is the reality of who I am physically right now and what I'm working hard to change. I'm also working on form on all of my exercises.




Don't you love what I'm wearing? It was my bottom layer of my run :)

SO, thanks to the hubby and my own internal motivation, I'm 2 for 2 with my Jan. schedule for exercise. Holla!

2010 Goals

Ok, so I have thought and thought and thought about how to set goals - it's so hard.

My GOAL is to live a healthy life and make decisions that people around me will be inspired by. That's what I want to do - not just this year, every year.

However, this goal is one that is not easy for me to obtain. I am turning 35 this year. We're talking 35 years (almost) of not very good health and eating habits. I've been sneaking food and exercising on and off since I was a little kid. If I've been doing that for 30+ years, how many years will it take to get out of the habits? I took some really great steps at the end of 2009, so I'll keep plugging along!

Big goals for the year are:

1) Run a mini-marathon in May. Other running goals will be made after that one is achieved!

2) Eat clean. Make wise food choices that are processed - e.g. a Clif bar or Amazing Grass (that I can't WAIT to try!) is ok.

3) Make the right choices at the right time. If I don't feel like running, I need to do it anyway. If I don't want to order what I should, I need to do it anyway. If work is stressing me out, I need to take a step back and determine how big of a deal this is. I know how doing the right thing at the right time makes me feel in the end, and I need to remember that often.

4) Move with my kids. Take the dog for walks. Take them in the jogging stroller with me. Bike with them when it warms up. Make it a family habit.

Ok, so those are yearly goals - or really, other than #1, lifetime goals. Of course, in there, is lose weight. I need to do that. Yesterday, I took measurements, weighed myself, the whole thing, but I'm not sure I want to post that and make a big deal about that on this blog. I'd rather this blog be about my healthy living. If I do that, the weight loss will come (and I'll keep you posted on that!)

So, I decided that I would set monthly goals in order to help achieve these lifetime goals. So, here are my January Goals:

1) Stick to the exercise schedule I have made. For the month of Jan., I have myself alternating running and doing the 30 Day Shred along with Whittle My Middle 1. I also worked in one day of Yoga a week. I'll do this using Fit TV Namaste Yoga for this month.

2) Eat out only one day a week.

3) Drink a Green Monster 5 out of 7 days a week. Look! My Green Monster recipe is on Angela's site! So proud....so proud!

4) Wash my face every night - with all the stress I've had lately, my skin is a wreck. I have the face of a 12 year old (and I know a lot about 12 year olds as I work with them every day!)

5) I'm really contemplating going Vegan. I'm partially there... So, I'm going to commit 3 out of 7 days a week Vegan.

So those are my 5 January goals. Pretty attainable - as I post, I'll keep you updated on how I'm doing!

Thursday, December 31, 2009

2009 - Things to be grateful for!

Even though I haven't been blogging long and don't have many posts on this, I thought I would do a quick 2009 things to be grateful for post. This afternoon, my family and I were driving around doing errands and everyone was in a bad mood. Work is incredibly hard for me right now, my 3 year old is being a real pill, I haven't been feeling well for a week (a cough that I refer to as my stress cough will NOT go away!), and because of all of this, haven't slept well at all.

SOOOO, my beautiful husband said we should think about things for which we are grateful from 2009...and I think I might have some pictures to go along!

We took some great trips! Over spring, I went on a work trip with my hubby to San Diego. We had a great time. It was our first time away from the kids and it just felt great to be alone with him. We did some awesome things on this trip, but I didn't take many pictures. The best one I have is at a Padres game. I am a big baseball fan and have this not so secret dream to attend every major league ball park in the US. This stadium was a great one!



We also went to Santa Fe as a family. My parents have a house out there. We went over the summer and had a blast. We had picnics, ate great food, swam, relaxed, hiked....it was awesome!




We also took a couple of trips to Chicago. One in the fall as a getaway for just the four of us:





And again in December as our annual trip to celebrate Christmas. We go every year, do some regular traditions, and see lots of family. It's a great time.




In June, I completed the hardest year of teaching IN MY LIFE, and in August, I started year two in a different position, and in a MUCH smoother way. (This is just something to acknowledge - I don't really have pictures of this) :)

I ran/walked two races. In October, I did a 5K with two of my friends. My time was 38 minutes and I was just so happy to complete my first race in 5 years.



With the BEST cheering squad EVER!



In November, I did the Drumstick Dash on Thanksgiving. 4.5 miles in a little over an hour. Again, I was just so proud and LOVED the fact I started my holiday weekend with this race!



In May, we celebrated our baby girl turning one,




And in November, we celebrated our baby boy turning three.




So no matter what, really, could I be any luckier? I have yet to set my goals for 2010 - I have a couple of ideas and am ALMOST ready to go public with them, but for now and tonight, I'm going to celebrate a year that was, in all, a very successful year!

Sunday, December 27, 2009

A rough few weeks

This morning, I went for a two mile run. My first in quite a while. I felt pretty good. I took off too fast, but eventually I found my pace and pretty easily made it for the two miles. While I ran, I thought about my plan of attack. Slowly, but surely, I'm realizing how good I feel when I eat well and exercise regularly. I do not want to create resolutions - maybe more like plan of attack. I'm turning 35 in 2010. I"m hitting the second half of my 30s and want to feel better than I ever have before. I have been under a lot of stress at work lately and am really looking for balance and happiness. I haven't been focusing on eating, I haven't been putting emphasis on exercise, and you can tell. I'm tired, my face is a zitty mess, and I feel like a slug. I have a family and important job, people! I can't feel sluggish!

I felt proud this morning after my run. That feeling of pride, in my opinion, should trump any other feeling of stress or unhappiness I have. So, although this isn't my "Goals 2010" post, I would definitely say that one of my goals is to feel proud more often - and furthermore, acknowledge that pride!

We are visiting family for the next couple of days. When we get back, I'll do my Goals 2010 post - OH and I got a Canon Powershot for Christmas! Perfect to carry along with me on my runs! :) (Of course I forgot this morning - I will tomorrow for sure!)

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

The Body Image Issue

As I write more and get happier with my body more, I'm sure I'll write about this more.

The bottom line is, regardless of the fact that this body has given birth to two amazing babies, works hard everyday, helped open an incredible school, has run many races including a half marathon, takes care of a house, cooks healthy food for her family (almost) everyday, takes walks with the family regularly, was a gymnast and softball player - and a pretty good one at that....regardless of all of that, I will never forget the HURTFUL things people said to me when I was younger.

Nobody says them now.

In fact, I get a lot more compliments than anything else.

However, when I have days that I struggle to exercise or make a bad order while I'm eating out, my mind goes back to those mean and thoughtless people.

They have power over me. That is a power that I am going to conquer - even if I am peering at 35 off yonder in the distance. If I'm going to raise my children to love themselves, I really need to figure out how to love myself too.

Thank you, Carla, for your post today. It hit home in more ways than you'll ever know. :)

Friday, December 4, 2009

The Exercise Issue

Ahhhh exercise....

How I love thee but struggle with thee.

I have to wake up to workout early. I can do videos in my living room, exercises on my own, and even go running.

But I don't.

All week, I set the alarm for 5:00 and ended up getting up between 6 and 6:30, then I'm out the door by 7:00.

It's just so hard.

I want to set goals and make this big plan for myself, but I don't. The craziest thing is that I know it will make me feel amazing. I know that I will be so psyched that I started my day that way and walk into work with all kinds of pride.

I wish I could have this whole conversation with myself to convince myself.

But I'm not.

I would be so excited if I blogged every morning about my great morning workout - just like I was excited to blog about my food choice out to eat on Monday (and by the way my eating has been AWESOME this week!)

So I'll leave it at that. I'll keep reminding myself about how good I'll feel if I do it and blog about it. And I KNOW I will get there!

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

If you don't want to take a picture of it, don't eat it!

Last night was gymnastics night at our house. We leave work a bit early, pick up the kids and take them to gymnastics. A1 is in his own class and A2 is in a parent/tot class. They workout at the same gym I went to as a kid before my family moved to Chicago (once upon a time, teachermama was a pretty good gymnast...maybe another time I'll get into that...)

After gymnastics, we go out to dinner. Gymnastics ends at 6 and by then the kids are starving - even if they've had a snack on the way! We often go to Subway which is great - I can get a veggie sub and baked chips and not feel even remotely bad about myself. I can even snack on the kids stuff and not feel bad (I have a TERRIBLE time keeping my hands out of their food. I'm working on it!)

Last night, Ryan and I were not feeling Subway. It was all A1 wanted, but we convinced him to go to McAlisters. This is a place I don't love, but it has more options - however, for a vegetarian, the options are slim. Salad does nothing for me. I had veggie chili for lunch and really didn't want it again....so I opted for a cheese pizza. They are thin crust and good. Then, while I was sitting there, I thought about taking a picture of my food. I thought that I might be embarrassed of taking a picture of my cheese pizza. For someone who SAYS they are trying to be healthy, I shouldn't be ordering cheese pizzas. :) So THIS is what my plate looked like:



Yippee for me!!! I am my own superhero!!! I was quite proud! The sandwich was delicious, and I only used a little bit of the ranch dressing (so nice it came on the side!) I nibbled a little bit on the kids' stuff (those are A2's nachos in the background, she likes to "dip" stuff!), but felt really good about my choices....maybe this food blogging thing is worth it ---although hubby did get a little annoyed I was taking a picture of my food while the kids were both crying and whining..... Hey, I'll figure it out!

Cheers to a great day! My day started with another incredible bowl of oatmeal - yum, yum, yum!